A master piece of the Weser Renaissance!
When Duke Otto the Strict had the town of Celle built in 1292 according to his plans, the town hall was also erected in the Markt. This building is an impressive reminder of the ducal reign. It was extended in the 14th and the 16th centuries and richly ornamented. The north gable is a master piece of the Weser Renaissance.
In the Ratskeller gothic cross vaults can still be found.
Celle's town hall, one of the oldest buildings in the town, comprises two sections.
The town hall is first mentioned although it has probably been in existence since the town's foundation in 1292. It was extended in 1380.
- From 1561
Reconstruction of the northern wing above the vaults of the previous medieval building by master mason Jakob Rieß. The sculpture works at the northern oriel are by stonemason Frederic Soltesburg from Salzburg. Sculptors from Hamelin also work on the northern Renaissance gable (1577-79).
Extension of the town hall by a south wing by master mason Jakob Rieß and carpenter Hans Gudehus noticeable in the bend of the building.
Reconstruction of the south wing following a fire, again renewed in 1785, now in classicistic style.
Extension southwards by 5 m. The interior dates from this time.
Restoration of the facade based on the baroque ashlar and illusionist paintings of H. J. Süersen from 1697.