The oldest largely preserved half-timbered synagogue in Lower Saxony.
When in 1737 Celle’s Jewry was granted permission to build a place of worship, a synagogue was erected as a rear building which cannot be seen from the street "Im Kreise".
A simple structure from the outside but with a presentable interior, the synagogue is today the oldest largely preserved half-timbered synagogue in Lower Saxony.
Apart from sections of the Thora shrine and the offertory box the interior furnishing was destroyed during the pogrom of November 1938. Survivors of the holocaust founded a new congregation after 1945. The almemor and the bima date from that time.
Following extensive restoration the Synagogue was consecrated again in 1974 and now serves the Jewish Community as a place of worship. One of the two front houses accommodates a museum with changing exhibitions depicting Jewish life in Celle and Jewish cultural history.
Im Kreise 24
Guided tours on request:
Tel.: +49 5141 9090816
Mo:10 am - 5 pm
Tue to Thu: 9 am - 5pm
Fri: 9 am - 4 pm
Sun: 3pm - 5pm