A historical permanent exhibition
Between 1941 and 1945 around 100,000 people perished in the combined prisoner of war and concentration camps at Bergen-Belsen, which the Nazis deceivingly called ‘detention camp Bergen-Belsen’., Beginning in 1946, on the initiative of the British military government, an obelisk and an inscription wall were erected on the site of the former camp. In 1952 the State of Lower Saxony assumed responsibility for the care and the maintenance of the memorial site.
The Document House opened to the public in 1966 featuring a permanent exhibition gives visitors an impression of life in the camp and the political aspect of its development. Since 1990 the history of the prisoner of war camp and of the concentration camp has been displayed in a permanent exhibition which was substantially extended within a renewed Document House.
Bergen-Belsen is the central memorial site of the State of Lower Saxony, which aims to preserve the awareness of the criminal and inhuman regime of the National Socialists and to commemorate its victims.
Wheelchair users, elderly people, people with walking disabilities.
Please note:The excavation area is not accessible for wheelchair users.
1 April to 30 September: 10am – 6pm
1 October to 31 March: 10am – 5pm
Closed : 24 to 26 and 31 December, 1 January.
The cemetery and the former camp site can be visited any time.
Admission is free!