The chronicle, which was written in 1692, reports about the foundation of the convent in the 13th century. Duchess Agnes, Henry the Lion’s daughter-in-law, was widowed in 1225, however, “still being in blooming age, she thought of building a spiritual women’s cloister to the honour of the Lord”.
In 1233, Bishop Konrad II of Hildesheim confirmed the foundation of the convent and furbished it with many commodities. The business situation of the convent allowed building splendid buildings. The Nuns’ Choir was decorated impressively with paintings, which was against the Cistercian Rule. The Lutheran Reformation was introduced in the Principality of Luneburg during the 15hundreds.
The convent of Wienhausen owns an extraordinary amount of medieval Christian art objects, some of them having been used continually for religious purposes, others having been “rediscovered” in the last 150 years. In conjunction with the buildings they form a unique opus. In a secular world, showing this opus to the numerous guests and explaining the Christian meaning to them, means making people more familiar with the Christian belief.
Apart from that, the convent is a Christian-based community still today. It is obligatory for the conventuals the take part in joint services, devotional prayers and meetings of the convent regularly.
Carpet Week in Wienhausen from 26.05.-03.06.2018
with a personal tour through the exhibition of Gothic tapestries and the monastery (combined guide) Tour times: Weekdays, every 30 minutes, 10.00 am - 5.00 pm Sunday, every 30 minutes, 12.00 am - 5.00 pm
Tue.-Sa.: 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.
Su.: 12.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.
Various theme tours
Various exhibitions, lectures, concerts
The Convent has many stairs and steps!
for more information click here