© Kath. Pfarrgemeinde St. Ludwig

St. Ludwig Church

Short facts

  • Celle
  • Kirchen

Once the only Catholic church of the Lüneburg Heath area



The Catholic parish church of St. Ludwig was built between 1835 and 1837 and was consecrated a year later by the Bishop of Hildesheim. At the time, it was the only Catholic church in the Lüneburg Heath area.

The design comes from Lübeck's city architect Johann David Anton Spetzler (1787 - 1861) and clearly shows the influence for the concept of a "normal church", a church for smaller parishes – from the Berlin architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel (1781 - 1841).  Two towers were added in 1881, in what was then still the neo-baroque forms (until 1931). The shape and colour of the glass windows from the beginning of the 20th century are entirely reminiscent of the 19th century and historicism. After several alterations and renovations, the St. Ludwig Church is captivating today with its elegant, classicist forms and simple beauty.

The organ, consecrated in 1998, is a new model built in German romantic style, by the specialist firm of organ builders, Martin ter Haseborg. Both visually and in its tone, the organ fits seamlessly into the church interior. The church also has a modern chapel room, which houses an historic altarpiece.

On the map

Julius-von-der-Wall-Str. 1

29221 Celle

Deutschland


Phone: +49 5141 9744810

General information

Openings
WeekdayTime of day
Monday - Sunday
08:00 bis 17:00
Payment Options
  • Entrance Free
Other Furnishing/Equipment
  • Handicapped accessible WC
  • Barrier-free access
Price info

Entrance free of charge

Next steps