Celle’s half-timbered architecture
Half-timbered buildings dominate the Old Town. The oldest houses with street-facing gables date from the late 15th century. Houses with street-facing eaves of the 17th and 18th centuries blend in but they often have transverse gables. Older houses with passages leading to a courtyard suggest the residents were once farming families. From 1600 onwards, either projecting oriels were added to some of the houses (such as the town hall) or bay windows which reached the ground. Often the storeys protrude. More or less rich carving as well as inscriptions can be especially seen on the storey beams whereby the type of ornamentation reveals the age of the house. Towards the end of the 17th century the ornamention became simpler and then disappeared completely. In its place the half-timbered houses were daubed with a grey coating following the example of baroque houses which were erected at that time. Underneath the daub, the half-timbering remained largely hidden for two centuries. From the second half of the 19th century, the townscape increasingly changed by the addition of modern buildings. In recent years however the half-timbered houses have been renovated to return them to the their original appearance. Coloured paint has been applied which enables the wooden construction and the carvings to be more visible.
In various ways, you will immerse yourself in the world of half-timbered buildings and the burghers of Celle, who used to own them. Familiarize yourself with the customs and habits of the old days or get a taste of regional specialities.