The Stechbahn, formerly known as the “Steckelbahn”, is on the site of a former jousting arena
Also located on the Stechbahn is the Löwenapotheke, which was built around 1530 and was a princely court pharmacy until 1849.
The main room is furnished with original shelves and historical apothecary vessels. Here too, is the so-called ´Museumscafé`, which has been located in this historic building since October 2011.
In 2004/2005 the "Stechbahn" was reconstructed. The task was to re-design the area on the south side of Celle’s Evangelical Lutheran church of St. Mary, which has been frequently redesigned over the centuries, in line with inner city traffic planning and at the same time, to make it more attractive as a space for visitors and local residents. The historical background that led to the re-naming of the area, was also taken into account for the redesign. The converging fountains are designed to reproduce the movements of the horse riders who once competed here at tournaments.
The reconstructed Stechbahn, together with its fountain, was officially inaugurated on October 3rd, 2004. Since then, young and old have enjoyed this newly constructed piece of Celle. The young and the young at heart, are still "competing" with the fountains today and in summer, the fountain is also a welcome place to cool down.